Navigation and service


European Territorial Cooperation - better known as Interreg - is part of the EU's structural and investment policy. With Interreg, the EU supports cross-border infrastructure, job market integration and cultural exchange (so-called Interreg A). Interreg also covers transnational cooperation in larger areas such as the Baltic Sea Region or the Alpine Space aiming at territorial integration of these areas (Interreg B). From 2014 to 2020, the EU provides 1.39 billion euros for this type of cooperation.

Germany participates in six transnational programme areas: Alpine Space, Danube Region, Central Europe, North Sea Region, North West Europe and Baltic Sea Region. Each of these areas faces specific challenges that do not stop at administrative borders and require coordinated actions. These are being implemented through hundreds of joint projects.

The Federal Institute for Research on Building, Urban Affairs and Spatial Development (BBSR) supports transnational cooperation in the six programmes with German participation. This includes communication and knowledge transfer among German stakeholders. The BBSR also represents the Federal administration in the programme steering committees and - on behalf of the Federal Ministry of the Interior, Building and Community - runs the Federal Transnational Cooperation Programme, a national funding programme.

You will find extensive information on Germany’s participation in Interreg B in the German language section of the website.

This Page

© Copyright by BBR. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.